Loading Events
This event has passed.

“NAFI – The Possible Turn / Engine Failure After Takeoff In A Single-Engine Airplane”
Topic: Discussion of the principles involved in returning to the airport safely after engine failure in a Single Engine Airplane.
On Wednesday, May 15, 2019 at 19:00 Central Daylight Time (17:00 PDT, 18:00 MDT, 20:00 EDT, 14:00 HST, 16:00 AKDT, 17:00 Arizona, 00:00 GMT)

Select Number:
CE0392129

Description:

Until recently, conventional training and wisdom dictated that pilots should always land straight ahead when confronted by an engine failure that occurs shortly after takeoff. This controversial topic has been hotly debated since the early days of aviation to the point where turning around to land on the departure runway has been called “the impossible turn.” It can be argued convincingly, however, that there are instances when it would be safer to return to the airport than to land straight ahead following such an engine failure.

The FAA now states matter-of-factly in Advisory Circular 61-83J that “flight instructors should demonstrate and teach trainees when and how to make a safe 180-degree turnback to the field after an engine failure.”

During this presentation, Brian Schiff will discuss the principles involved in returning to the airport safely. It will be based to a large extent on his father, Barry Schiff’s, decades of study and research involving this subject.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:

Master Knowledge 2 – 1 Credit

REGISTER HERE